top of page

Weekly Essentials: Oils for Heart Chakras (Series)

The heart chakra, or Anahata chakra in Sanskrit, is located at the center of the spine at the heart level. Anahata roughly translates to, “unhurt.” The heart chakra acts as our center for compassion, empathy, love, and forgiveness. This chakra governs one’s senses of trust, fearlessness, peace, generosity, gratitude, and connectedness, as well as change and transformation, healthy boundaries, depth in relationships with others, emotional control, and love for oneself. The color that represents the heart chakra is green, with the element of air, it is the 4th chakra counting from the bottom of the spine in the traditional 7 chakra system.

Key Characteristics of your Heart Chakra

  • Love for oneself and others.

  • Relating and relationships.

  • Compassion Empathy.

  • Forgiveness, acceptance.

  • Transformation, change.

  • Ability to grieve and reach peace.

  • Compassionate discernment.

  • Center of awareness, integration of insights.

Signs of Balance

  • Experiencing Emotions Deeply

  • Experiencing Deep Interconnection

  • Openness to Fully Receiving

  • Generosity

  • Compassion and Forgiveness

  • Healthy Conscious Relationships

  • Connection to Your Higher Self

  • Experiencing Synchronicity

  • Ease in Manifestation / Conscious Creation

  • Acceptance and Non-Judgment

  • Peace and Relaxation

Underactive Heart chakra

  • Withdrawn

  • Lacking Empathy

  • Unforgiving

  • Isolation

  • Overly Critical of Yourself

  • Overly Critical of Others

Imbalanced or blocked heart chakra

  • Being overly defensive

  • Feeling closed down

  • Jealousy; fear of intimacy

  • Codependency, relying on other’s approval and attention

  • Trying to please at all cost

  • Always putting oneself in the role of the savior or the rescuer; or on the contrary, falling into victimization

  • Excessive isolation, being reclusive and antisocial

  • Holding grudges, not being able to forgive

Signs of an overactive heart chakra

  • Excess within this chakra can present itself as:

  • codependency

  • demanding

  • clinging

  • jealousy

  • overly sacrificing

  • Neglect Emotional Self-Care

  • Lost Sense of Identity

  • Lost Sense of Personal Boundaries

  • Saying Yes to Everything Even When it Hurts You

  • Giving to Others Without Restraints

Ways To Balance Your Heart Chakra

  • Practice gratitude. Keep a gratitude journal, writing down three things a day that you feel grateful for.

  • Practice loving-kindness meditation.

  • Use rose quartz and other heart-opening crystals.

  • Drink heart-opening beverages like rose tea and cacao

  • Practice heart-opening affirmations.

  • Work with the breath to balance your energy; observe it, play with it with breathing exercises.

  • Cultivate your appreciation for beauty, whether it’s in nature, people, or the arts.

  • Practice self-care and love your body; try a bath with rose essential oil.

  • Cultivate self-compassion and acceptance, especially with regards to your emotions and body.

  • Engage in activities that feed your heart.

  • Focus on receiving if you are naturally inclined to be a giver, and on giving if you’re more inclined to receive all the time.

  • Reflect on old wounds inherited from family relationships and come to terms with them compassionately; practice forgiveness deep within your heart.

  • Express your gratitude. You can be grateful for the presence of other people in your life or simply for good things that make your life easier and happier.

Physical Level

Respiratory ailments, such as lung infection and bronchitis.

Circulatory and heart-related issues.

Essential oils to balance Heart Chakra

  • Rose Promotes love and joy. Promotes comfort and restores trust in others.

  • Geranium: This emotional healing oil restores confidence and trust in others. It can help to heal a broken heart and open one up to love.

  • Neroli: A natural tranquilizer and regulator of the nervous system that opens the heart chakra, uplift your spirit, and encourages confidence, joy, and peace.

  • Lavender: Helps you to relax, let go of the stress, and release fear, which fosters connection with the heart center and opens you up to more love.

  • Lemon: Opens the heart chakra to self-love and self-nurturing. Lightens while uplifting your spirit and bringing clarity into your life.

  • Marjoram: Restores warmth, self-compassion, and self-nurturing when feeling lonely or isolated.

  • Yarrow: Known for its wound healing qualities and releasing anger caused by a wounded heart.

  • Jasmine: Uplifting and joyous oil that balances the emotional system, soothes anxiety and helps with depression and apathy.

Keep in mind there is limited research supporting the health benefits of essential oils, however, there are studies supporting the benefits of essential oils aiding in lessening stress and anxiety. Many people do claim and enjoy the benefits of using essential oils to balance their chakras. You can enjoy these benefits by experimenting yourself but keep in mind the safety precaution in using essential oils. Today we will focus on sacral Chakra essential oils in a series we will call oils for Chakras.

Essential oils Safety First

Do a patch test before using any essential oil and even before that consult with your doctor to make sure it won't interfere with any medication. You can do a patch test by diluting the essential oil in a carrier oil first and testing it on a small area of your body.

Consider those in your environment as well before diluting and using oils, as children and pets cannot tolerate certain oils or certain levels of oil exposure. Research is always useful before using any oils.

Crystals to Balance your Heart Plexus

Emerald: Believed to be the purest form of green energy, Emerald is a favorite option for opening and healing the heart chakra. As the Crystal of Successful Love, the emerald can help bring back balance to relationships, enhance unconditional love and encourage loyalty.

Rose Quartz: The Stone of unconditional love, Rose quartz is the most loved stone for healing Anahata. With its vibrant pink color, this variety of quartz offers beautiful feminine energy, resonating both your heart chakra and your higher heart chakra.

Rhodochrosite: A wonderful cleanser of the heart chakra, rhodochrosite with its pink or orange color also resonates with the solar plexus and root chakra. It is particularly useful in relieving stubborn imbalances and blockages caused by past pains and wounds.

Green Aventurine: known as the Stone of opportunity and you can use it to attract energies of wealth and success. However, this lovely green crystal is originally connected to the heart chakra and is used to promote harmony.

Malachite: one of the most powerful healing stones for the 4th chakra. The stone absorbs negative energies, allowing you to remove destructive behaviors and thought patterns.

Heart Chakra Affirmations

Though our business focuses on cleaning, we all know the challenges that we can face when we are not mentally in the right place. I focus a lot on the mental health aspect as it impacts our mood and desire to do anything, which sometimes is cleaning our space. Cleaning our home, office, etc gives us a sense of control over our environment and can make us feel better. But, sometimes we need to get there and not sure how to, in our chakra series we will focus on different perspectives or ways of looking at what is going on with "us" mentally. Once we can pinpoint "our" problems we can find a solution. I hope these series are helpful and would love your feedback in the comments. A comment will also let you enter to win our weekly essential oil. Also, you can enter feedback on any blog post which will give you more opportunities to win.


31 views0 comments


bottom of page